A Little More Adventurous

Over the Chinese New Year break, we decided to head out of Singapore and go for a short trip to Krabi, Thailand! We spent 4 days and 3 nights at the Anantara Si Kao Resort & Spa, which was about an hour away from the airport (I don’t really get to travel as much as I would want to but whenever I get to go on trips I get so giddy). It was such a wondrous feeling arriving at the resort because: 1. School barely started and we were already given a long weekend + I was in another country 2. The view was marvellous 3. I finally got to start taking photos (I have such a habit of taking photos everywhere & my siblings are probably getting tired of me asking them to help me take a photo. Hence, I end up taking selfies – for keepsakes? ¯\_(ツ)_/¯)

After settling down in the hotel, my family and I decided our itinerary for our stay. Sadly, I wasn’t able to document everything but it was definitely a blast and here are some of the photos I was able to capture using my iPhone 5  and its LifeProof Fre case! The case was definitely worth the investment.

The Long Tail Boat we rented to head out to Emerald Cave (roughly a 20 minute boat ride from our resort) and to snorkel!

His wonders and creations never cease to amaze.

Emerald Cave –  Such a wonderful (and slightly terrifying) experience. It was definitely the highlight of our trip. We swam inside the Emerald Cave where our tour guide/long tail boat driver led us in by pulling a buoy that my Dad was holding on to, while my siblings, cousin and I clung to each other (forming a caterpillar of orange vests – as depicted above. That’s not us though). As our tour guide reeled us into the entrance of the cave, it was such a delight to see such beauty wherein the light reflected the water to be green/emerald, hence its name. However, as we started to get deeper into the cave, I started to feel petrified because we were swimming IN a cave with no lights and the only thing keeping us sane was the torch light our guide was carrying and our trust that he knows where we’re going is safe. As we were swimming, I was just really praying and hoping really hard that we’d get to our destination safely and that there wasn’t a giant monster octopus or something living down there that would grab us and reel us in and that we’ll never be found again.. but after what seemed to be forever (approximately a 15 minute swim) we started seeing light. How glad we were! Hahaha. We then saw a beach. A hidden beach inside a cave. It was just breathtaking how the water was so clear and just how the whole ambiance of the place was so peaceful.

The whole experience was definitely something that I never imagined myself doing because I was and am still afraid of the ocean and I can barely even swim, which makes me even more thankful that life vests exists! Without it, I would’ve missed such an experience! (Also, kudos to our Tour Guide! Though there was an undeniable language barrier, he was very friendly and just smiled all the time even if he had to reel us heavy people into the cave all by himself.)

Emerald Cave is probably one of the most popular tourist attractions Krabi has to offer, judging from the sea of people we saw there. Hehe. (Sorry.. Such lame puns.)

Right after our trip to the Emerald cave, our guide drove us to a snorkelling area! I cannot remember the last time I did such a thing. Really thankful for my siblings who helped me overcome my fear and who held my hand all throughout (literally). 

During the 2nd night of our trip, our hotel held a Chinese New Year buffet event where a fusion of Chinese and Thai delicacies and cuisine were served whilst we were entertained by a few dragon dances and live performances. Thereafter, we were able to light up wishing lanterns!

On the third day of our trip, we opted for a tour. We just basically went around several cities near Krabi to have more of a local experience. For breakfast, we had awesome and super cheap dim sum and went to several markets and malls (Krabi and the cities around it, isn’t really the best place to shop in Thailand though).

“His glory appears age to age like the light that He shines from the sun.”

Ultimately, I truly enjoyed the whole trip with my family. The place was beautiful. The resort we stayed in was amazing. The whole staff was so hospitable and friendly plus the breakfast buffet every morning was just so good! It was such a delight to be able to interact and meet new people and I’m just really glad that I was able to try new things and just have the spirit of adventure! So blessed to have had this trip and just to witness even more the beauty and creations that God has made! Looking forward to more trips in the future!

I hope you guys enjoyed this post and thank you for reading it!

If you have any questions or comments, feel free to leave a comment below or e-mail me at: danicaishere@gmail.com

🙂

Leave a Reply

