Seoul

About a year ago, my friends and I ventured on our first overseas trip together to Hong Kong. Although, the whole trip was mainly set because I was part of a wedding entourage, I knew I had to drag some of my closest friends with me to later on explore Hong Kong with. Ever since, these friends of mine and I made a pact that we’d travel together yearly and lo and behold we kept this pact this year. This time we’ve set for Seoul.

To be honest with you, my friends and I always look out for airline promo fares and yes, we’re one of those people who wait vigorously (and perhaps passionately) for the servers to get back up when the airline websites traffic overflow. Nonetheless, all the wait and stress of booking cheap flights in my books, is always worth it. We booked our 5 day Seoul trip about 6 months before our actual departure. This gave us ample time to psych ourselves and research the places we’d love to see.

We ended up with 4 main sights on our checklist:

Myeong-Dong

Nami Island

Gyeongbokgung Palace

Everland

We managed to book an apartment in Hongdae via Airbnb and I’ve got to say it was the most worth it expenditure we’ve made. Since we had 6 months of extra time, my friends and I got to book an apartment with a Superhost and a 5 star rating.

We ventured on our trip on March, it was the season wherein winter was in the verge of ending. The temperature varied with a low of 0 degrees to about 18 degrees celcius. We were so thankful that we didn’t book our flight on the peak of winter because I honestly don’t know if we would have survived.

Hongdae

Processed with VSCO with c9 presetProcessed with VSCO with c9 presetProcessed with VSCO with c9 preset

Nami Island

Processed with VSCO with c9 presetProcessed with VSCO with c9 presetProcessed with VSCO with c9 presetProcessed with VSCO with c9 presetProcessed with VSCO with c9 presetProcessed with VSCO with c9 presetProcessed with VSCO with c9 preset

Processed with VSCO with c9 preset
I guess you could say that the best thing about travelling with friends is that you get a free photoshoot anywhere at anytime.

Processed with VSCO with c9 presetProcessed with VSCO with c9 preset

Gyeongbokgung Palace

Processed with VSCO with c9 presetProcessed with VSCO with c9 presetProcessed with VSCO with c9 preset

Somewhere in Myeong-Dong

Processed with VSCO with c9 preset

Everland

Processed with VSCO with c9 presetProcessed with VSCO with c9 presetProcessed with VSCO with c9 presetProcessed with VSCO with c9 preset

I cannot seem to jot down in words the excitement, exhilaration and thrill of traveling to a new place. I am forever thankful for the privilege to explore new sights and the opportunity I have to experience and immerse myself in different cultures.

Seoul was always one of the places I had always wanted to visit – perhaps the advent of Korean Dramas (Goblin for the win) and having previous classmates from Korea has gotten me to appreciate and know more about Korea and its beauty.

Ultimately, my favorite things about Seoul were the simple things – the mouthwatering variety of street food, the convenient stores everywhere (our staples were Kimbap and Banana Milk), the easy commutes and of course the endless places to shop. Also, to get to share these experiences with some of my closest friends is the best part of it as well. The tons of mishaps, getting lost and grumpiness (induced by my painful but “nice looking” boots) were all worth it. Best advise I could give you (and myself) is please travel with more comfortable shoes.

If you’ve reached the end of this, thank you!

If you want to relive our Seoul experience with us, feel free to watch my Seoul Travel Video Diary:

If you have any questions about our trip, feel free to ask away and comment below, I’d be happy to answer them!

Have a great weekend ahead!

Leave a Reply

